Call Now

The Bengal Engineering & Science University

Updated on: Mar 21, 2013

BESU - The Bengal Engineering and Science  University, Shibpur is also known as BESU. It is located at Shibpur in Howrah, West Bengal. The University is one of the oldest and leading engineering colleges in India. It is quite popular in India and abroad for its heritage as well as excellence in teaching and research in engineering and applied sciences.

It is one of the most reputed institutions and fourth oldest universities in the country, established in the year 1856 as Civil Engineering College with the aim of introducing engineering education in the country. Later, in 1920 the name was changed to Bengal Engineering College Shibpur. In 1992, the college was elevated to the status of a deemed university and then president of India, Dr. Sankar Dayal Sharma formally inaugurated Bengal Engineering College (A Deemed University) on March, 1993. In 2004, the deemed university was elevated to the Status of a University with its present name.

Several undergraduate courses leading to B.E / B.Arch Degree are offered by the University. It also offers numerous Masters level courses in technical disciplines. PhD courses are also offered. The courses of the University are approved by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). Master of Business Administration (MBA) and one year post-graduate diploma in Bio-Informatics are also conducted by the University.

BESU Facilities:

  • Sports
  • Canteen
  • Library
  • Medical
  • Hostel

BESU Departments:

  1. Applied Mechanics
  2. Architecture
  3. Chemistry
  4. Civil Engineering
  5. Computer Science & Technology
  6. Electrical Engineering
  7. Electronics & Tele Communication
  8. Geology
  9. Humanities
  10. Human Resource Management
  11. Information Technology
  12. Mathematics
  13. Mechanical Engineering
  14. Metallurgy Engineering
  15. Mining Engineering
  16. Physics

For further information related to BESU, click on the links provided below:

Subscribe to our newsletter